Great news:

Our own Cory Schott has just won the Phi Alpha Theta Award for the best paper presented in Latin American History at the Phi Alpha Theta Regional Conference "Conflict and Cooperation" at Arizona State University!!!

His paper "From Indentured Servants to Active Citizens: Chinese Immigrant Labor and Peruvian National Identity, 1850-1930" is part of a larger project he develops for the Seminar in Latin American History this semester.Please note that the papers of the... Read more

Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:50pm

Dr. Richard Eaton has written a book chapter entitled "The Articulation of Islamic Space in the Medieval Deccan," in Irene A.

UK: Garnet Publishers, 2005), 113-31.

He will also be giving public talks:

  1. "The 2004 tsunami in historical perspective," Voyager RV Park, Tucson, 2 Feb., 2006.
  2. "The History of Medieval India: Separating Myths from Lives,"... Read more
Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:48pm

Dr. Gail Bernstein's new book, Isami's House, Three Centuries of a Japanese Family and Katherine G. Morrissey's edited book, Picturing Arizona: the Photographic Record of the 1930s is noted in J.C. Martin 's column "Southern Arizona Authors" in the Sunday February 5, 2000 , issue of Arizona Daily Star.


Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:47pm

The Border Institute, directed by Dr. Oscar Martines, is one of two border projects that will receive about $10,000 from a fundraiser held in El Paso on February 1 in conjuction with an advance screening of the new movie, "The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada," starring Tommy Lee Jones. The idea for the fundraiser originated with Jones, who asked the El Paso Community Foundation, the sponsor of the Border Institute, to nominate projects that could benefit from the fundraiser.

(2/9/... Read more

Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:44pm

Dr. Oscar Martinez gave a lecture on "Why is Mexico Poorer than the United States?" as part of the UA Faculty Fellows Speaker Series on January 25, 2006. This lecture was videotaped and will be shown several times on the UA Channel (Cox cable channel 19).


Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:42pm

Friday, May 12, 2006 - Department of History Commencement Luncheon and Ceremony, 11 am at Inn Suites Hotel.

Dear Graduating Senior:

As Commencement approaches, the University of Arizona faculty and staff bids fond farewell and offers their warmest congratulations to graduating students. It is now your turn to be formally recognized for your achievement. In recognition of that achievement, the Department of History hosts its very own reception for graduating students. This will... Read more

Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:41pm

Thursday, February 16, 2006 the History Department will be hosting "A Conversation with Nicholas Nicastro," at 7pm at
Clues Unlimited, A Mystery Bookstore.

The book being reviewed is "The Isle of Stone," a novel on Ancient Sparta.


Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:37pm

Beth Henson won a highly competitive (two per year for the whole university) travel grant from Phi Beta Kappa/Honors College to participate in the Phi Alpha Theta panel at the Southwest Social Sciences Association Conference in April. She also won a Magellan Circle Scholarship through Social and Behavioral Sciences last Fall as well as a $500 stipend from SBS for senior thesis research and a $300 stipend from the Honors Class for same. Beth says that "all this took an extraordinary amount of... Read more

Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:36pm

Please join us each month and hear about the latest work of a mystery historian. These "conversations" take place at Tucson's mystery bookstore Clues Unlimited. Please check our calender for the next event.

For more information or to make reservations, please call (520) 621-3793

Reception,7:00 p.m.
At Clues Unlimited, A Mystery Bookstore

123 South Eastbourne

Tickets are $10 per person



Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:34pm

On January 7, in Philadelphia,Celeste Gonzalez de Bustamante presented a paper at the AHA, Mexican Studies committee of the Conference on Latin American Studies, entitled, "Olympic Dreams, Tlatelolco Nightmares: Television Helps Construct International Image and Solidarity, 1968."


Post date: Wed, 27/04/2011 - 8:32pm


College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Contact Us

Department of History
Cesar E. Chavez
Main Office, Room 415 
1110 James E. Rogers Way
Tucson, AZ 85721
Tel: (520) 621-1586
Fax: (520) 621-2422